key

La simulation: une technologie clé

La simulation, aujourd’hui plus que jamais, est devenue une technologie clé pour résoudre les problèmes complexes des industries modernes. FlexSim est l’outil de simulation le plus puissant et le plus efficace du marché.

En tant qu’étudiants, vous êtes les futurs visages des entreprises de demain. Vous aurez à prendre des décisions qui impacteront votre entreprise, sa croissance, son développement et son succès. Nous souhaitons vous préparer à prendre ces décisions.

Nous avons créé un programme académique spécifiquement pour vous.

shopping cart

Magasin en ligne

Rendez-vous dans notre magasin en ligne pour vous procurer le manuel d'enseignement Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim ou pour obtenir une licence étudiant.

Accédez au magasin en ligne dès maintenant !

download

Téléchargements de supports au manuel

IMPORTANT ! Téléchargez la version du fichier BookDownloads appropriée à la version de FlexSim que vous utilisez. Pa exemple, si vous utilisez la version 7 de FlexSim, téléchargez le fichier BookDownloadsV7.zip. Lisez le fichier README dans l'archive zip puis suivez les instructions.

The BookDownloads contient des modèles, bibliothèques, et autres objets graphiques qui sont mentionnés dans le manuel Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim

Download the Latest Textbook Materials

Materials are for the 5th Edition of “Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim.”

envelopeDemander une licence

Vous avez téléchargé la version d'évaluation mais vous souhaitez aller plus loin ? Bloqué par les limitations de la version d'évaluation ? Il est temps pour vous de demander une licence étudiant !

Rendez-vous sur le magasin en ligne pour demander votre propre licence étudiant.

shopping cart

Série vidéo Simulation Insight

Une série de courtes vidéos approfondissent des concepts de simulation et leur application avec FlexSim. Ils sont directement liés aux sujets abordés dans le manuel et peuvent servir à mieux comprendre certaines facettes de FlexSim. Une large gamme de sujets est traitée, de la manipulation d’un modèle dans FlexSim à la personnalisation de comportements grâce aux « triggers ».

Accédez à la série vidéo Simulation Insight

mouse

Simulation Knowledge Base

We call it Nouveau forum: FlexSim Answers, and it’s a Q&A site that is constantly monitored by FlexSim support team members and our worldwide simulation community. You’re cordially invited to ask questions and help others. Come collaborate with us!

Go to FlexSim Answers

mouse

Cours en ligne

Vous êtes nouveau dans le monde de la simulation et vous ne savez pas par où commencer ? Vous avez besoin d’une remise à niveau ? Des enregistrements de cours sont désormais disponibles en ligne ! Accédez aux cours en ligne pour télécharger des enregistrements de cours en ligne ou contactez-nous pour obtenir plus de support de formation.

Cette formation gratuite vous enseignera les bases fondamentales de FlexSim. La formation se compose d’un cours par semaine de 45 à 90 minutes sur une période de 4 semaines.

Elle vise principalement les étudiants qui prévoient d’utiliser FlexSim pour un projet ou une thèse, mais est aussi utile pour des individus intéressés par FlexSim.

Une licence étudiant temporaire est fournie pour la durée de la formation. Des enregistrements vidéo de la formation sont aussi disponibles. Contactez-nous pour plus d'informations.

shopping cart

Foire aux questions

  • Le manuel d'enseignement Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim est basé sur le principe que la simulation apporte de la valeur ajoutée lorsqu'elle est appliquée à des problématiques concrètes. Par conséquent, le manuel se focalise sur des applications réelles de la simulation. Chaque exercice décrit une problématique opérationnelle, les étudiants devront l’analyser, déterminer la meilleure manière d’utiliser la simulation puis développer une solution. Les réponses aux exercices impliquent souvent le constat par les étudiants de compromis nécessaires. Des questions de revue en fin de chapitre rappellent les techniques abordées dans celui-ci. Les statistiques et autres sujets théoriques sont abordés au fur et à mesure de leur pertinance dans l'application de la simulation.

  • L'expérience a démontré que la courbe d'apprentissage du logiciel en classe est très rapide. La facilité d’utilisation de FlexSim et le large choix d'options préconfigurées permet aux étudiants de s’attaquer à des problématiques complexes sans avoir à écrire du code. Les fonctionnalités avancées de FlexSim permettent d’aborder des sujets qui ne sont pas couverts dans d'autres manuels.

    De plus, puisque tout se déroule dans un environnement 3D, les étudiants montrent un plus grand intérêt à poursuivre leurs expérimentations avec la simulation. Ils ajoutent du réalisme à leurs modèles à l’aide des objets 3D de FlexSim ou en important des formes 3D à partir de logiciels de modélisation 3D tels que AutoCAD, ProE, Solid Works, Catia, 3D Studio, AC3D, Rivit, Google SketchUp et bien d’autres. Les étudiants peuvent aussi importer des milliers d’objets 3D dans leurs modèles à partir de la banque d'images 3D de Google.

  • Il y a 2 sujets en particulier qui sont couverts en détail dans ce manuel, auxquels la plupart des autres ne touchent pas, ou peu. Le premier est la simulation de fluides. Dans la mesure où beaucoup de systèmes de production comportement des fluides ainsi que des éléments de flux discrets, ce manuel dédie un chapitre à la simulation de systèmes hybrides fluide / discret. FlexSim contient une bibliothèque d’objets permettant de représenter des flux de fluides ou de petits éléments solides tels que des céréales ou du sucre. Les étudiants construisent un modèle d’un système de mélange et mise en lot, et une installation de chargement de céréales.

    Le second nouveau sujet porte sur la planification au sein des systèmes simulés. Dans le chapitre sur la planification de production, les étudiants simulent le contrôle de lignes dont la planification est gérée par un contrôleur central. Les étudiants devront prendre des décisions telles que: à quel endroit mesure-t-on le taux de production et comment gérer les encours qui restent sur la ligne une fois le nombre de produits commandés atteint. Les exercices de ces 2 chapitres peuvent être faits sans programmation grâce aux fonctionnalités standard de FlexSim.

  • Il y a des chapitres dédiés à l’analyse des données d'entrée / sortie. Les statistiques sont évoquées au fur et à mesure des besoins. Le chapitre sur la modélisation des données d'entrée comprend une partie sur l’application d’analyse ExpertFit, qui est incluse avec une licence étudiant. Le chapitre sur l’analyse des données de sortie se penche sur la construction d’expérimentations et l’analyse des mesures de performances, la manière de déterminer la durée de simulation appropriée et la comparaison statistique des résultats obtenus.

  • La simulation de la fiabilité devient un sujet très important. Les fonctionnalités standard de FlexSim permettent aux étudiants de comprendre et modéliser les notions de base de la fiabilité sans programmation. La gestion de la fiabilité dans FlexSim est bien plus simple que dans beaucoup d’autres applications. Un chapitre est dédié à la modélisation de fiabilité d’équipements; les étudiants construisent un modèle qui intègre plusieurs types de mise hors service et de pannes en fonction de l’état de l’équipement.

  • La structure cohérente des objets FlexSim facilite la construction de modèles. Bien entendu, un modèle vite fait ne veut pas dire qu'il sera bien fait, en particulier si le développement est mené sans réflexion préalable sur les choix de modélisation, les hypothèses opérationnelles et le fonctionnement de la simulation. Par conséquent, le livre dédie deux chapitres à la pratique professionnelle de la simulation. Au cours de ces chapitres, les étudiants apprennent à décrire, représenter et analyser un système, comprendre l’importance d’une bonne communication entre tous les acteurs d’un projet de simulation, déterminer la problématique que la simulation doit résoudre, identifier les objectifs à atteindre, décider de la portée de la simulation, décrire les hypothèses nécessaires et enfin établir les spécifications d’un projet. Les étudiants abordent des outils communs tels que le VSM (Value Stream Mapping) afin d’intégrer des détails dynamiques importants à la simulation. Un exemple de structure d’un projet de simulation basé sur une expérience industrielle approfondie est utilisé comme support.

  • Le manuel a déjà été utilisé avec succès pour former des étudiants en début ou fin de cursus, et pour de courtes formations sur la simulation. Le livre est organisé pour trois niveaux d’utilisateur: occasionnel, intermédiaire et avancé. Les formations peuvent être facilement personnalisées en puisant dans ces trois parties.

  • Un site communautaire dédié aux professeurs (protégé par mot de passe) est disponible et contient des cours, quizz, examens et supports de projets. Les auteurs du manuel sont directement joignables pour des questions et de l’aide.

  • FlexSim est un logiciel orienté objet, offrant plus de cohérence dans la structure des modèles, rendant ainsi le logiciel plus facile d’utilisation. Cependant, de nombreux compétiteurs proposent des solutions orientées objet, mais ne disposent pas d’une architecture logicielle qui puisse pleinement l’exploiter. La structure hiérarchique unique de FlexSim et ses fonctionnalités de visualisation élève l’orientation objet au niveau supérieur, au bénéfice des utilisateurs.

  • FlexSim Software Products, Inc. développe, supporte et vend des outils de simulation et d’optimisation depuis 1993. Bill Nordgren, directeur de FlexSim, est un pionnier de la simulation qui a co-fondé ProModel en 1988 et a contribué à l'expansion de la simulation sur le marché mondial. Avec Cliff King et Roger Hullinger, Bill a aussi introduit Taylor II et Taylor ED au marché nord-américain de la simulation. Ils ont compris que les évolutions des technologies, des utilisateurs et des besoins dirigeaient le marché vers des outils plus faciles à utiliser. Plus tard, le trio intégra Dr. Eamonn Lavery et Anthony Johnson à l’équipe de développement.

    FlexSim fut le premier de sa catégorie et reste aujourd’hui un leader au niveau des fonctionnalités et de la visualisation 3D que d’autres tentent désormais de suivre. Construits sur un moteur de simulation et une architecture logicielle de pointe, FlexSim a créé des applications dans les secteurs de la santé, des opérations portuaires, de la simulation distribuée, de la simulation multi-agents, etc. FlexSim a aussi créé des simulateurs internes basés sur ce même moteur pour plusieurs entreprises du classement Fortune 500.

  • Le support pour le manuel ainsi que le logiciel est disponible par votre représentant régional. Vous pouvez également contacter les auteurs du livre en personne.

  • Les étudiants peuvent télécharger le logiciel, l’installer sur leur poste de travail et envoyer une requête de licence étudiant. Alternativement, ils peuvent utiliser FlexSim à l'université si elle dispose d'une licence réseau. FlexSim collabore avec les écoles d'ingénieur et les universités pour proposer des solutions sur mesure d’acquisition du logiciel.

  • The student version of FlexSim is fully functional – all modeling objects (discrete and fluid, as well as custom library objects), hierarchical tree access, multi-scenario experimenter, spreadsheet and database accessibility, ability to modify objects via custom code, and the use of ExpertFit – data analysis software developed by Averill Law. While models of any size can be run on the software, new models are limited to 100 objects – a limit that doesn’t even come close to the most advanced models used in the textbook and most simulation courses.

  • Certain large or complex models can reach beyond the 100 object limitation of the Student license. If you reach the limit during a class exercise or project, your classmates may be having a similar issue — notify your instructor, who will contact FlexSim’s educational department or their local FlexSim representative to request a license upgrade for the course. If you reach the object limitation during a capstone, thesis, dissertation, or other similar project, email us at [email protected] and we’ll help you get the right license for your project.

  • La version étudiant de FlexSim est au même niveau de version que la version commerciale. Le manuel est régulièrement mis à jour afin de rester en phase avec l’évolution des technologies de simulation.

  • Après la fin du cours ou le diplôme, les étudiants peuvent visionner leurs modèles avec la version d’évaluation de FlexSim, ou continuer des développements avec une licence standard.

  • Depuis de nombreuses années, FlexSim soutient les étudiants du monde entier avec des licences pleinement fonctionnelles sur la version la plus récente du logiciel, pour des projets d’étude et de recherche. FlexSim est l’outil de prédilection pour l’enseignement de la simulation sur tous les continents. L'édition du manuel n’est que le chapitre le plus récent de cet engagement de FlexSim dans le monde de l'enseignement et de la recherche. Par ailleurs, FlexSim s’engage à fournir un support technique de haut niveau aux professeurs.

Veuillez patienter

chargement

key

Simulation: a key technology

Simulation, now more than ever, has become a key technology for addressing complex problems in today’s dynamic and challenging business environment. FlexSim is the most powerful and effective simulation tool on the market.

As students, you are the future face of tomorrow’s ever changing and dynamic business environment. You will make the decisions that affect your company’s growth, development, and success. We want to prepare you to make those decisions.

We’ve created an education program with you, the student, in mind.

shopping cart

Educational store

Please visit our educational store to obtain your own copy of Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim or to request a student license.

Visit the education store now!

download

Textbook materials downloads

IMPORTANT! Be sure to get the BookDownloads file for whatever version of FlexSim you’re using. This is especially important if you’re using a version of the software that differs from the version the textbook was written for. So if you’re using a version of FlexSim 7, get the BookDownloadsV7.zip, read the README file inside the .zip archive and follow the instructions.

The BookDownloads file contains models, libraries, and other graphic objects that are referred to in the textbook Applied Simulation: Modeling and Analysis using FlexSim.

envelopeRequest a license

Have you downloaded the free trial but want to dive a little deeper? Bumping up against the free trial limitations? Well then, its time to get yourself licensed!

Visit the education store to learn more about requesting your own student license.

shopping cart

Simulation Insight video series

A series of short videos that expand upon simulation concepts and their FlexSim application. They are synchronized with and support the textbook material. These can be used to better understand an area of FlexSim, or by your professor to supplement the textbook. Subjects range anywhere from a simple “opening a model” to a more complex “triggers” video that teaches you how to customize model behavior.

Check out the Simulation Insight video series

mouse

Simulation Knowledge Base

We call it FlexSim Answers, and it’s a Q&A site that is constantly monitored by FlexSim support team members and our worldwide simulation community. You’re cordially invited to ask questions and help others. Come collaborate with us!

Go to FlexSim Answers

mouse

Online courses

Are you new to simulation modeling and don’t know where to start? Do you want to brush up on your modeling skills? Online course recordings are now available! Check out the online courses to download class recordings or contact us at [email protected] to sign up for a live session.

This free course is a four-part series that teaches the fundamentals of FlexSim. Each individual session lasts 45-90 minutes and is given once a week over a month long period.

The month long course is primarily intended for students who are planning on using FlexSim for a project or thesis. They are also great for individuals interested in learning FlexSim.

A timed student license is available for use during the course and recordings of the courses are available for viewing. Contact us at [email protected] for more information.

shopping cart

Frequently Asked questions

  • The FlexSim textbook is based on the premise that simulation adds value when it’s applied to solve a problem. Consequently, the book is entirely focused on applying simulation. Every exercise describes an operational problem that students must analyze, decide how best to use simulation, and then develop an answer to the problem. Answers to the exercises often involve students recognizing operational trade-offs. Review questions at the end of each chapter serve as reminders of the application techniques in the chapter. Statistics and other theoretical topics are presented as they pertain to applying simulation.

  • Experience has shown that less class time is spent having to teach the software. FlexSim’s ease of use and extensive pre-built logic selections mean that students are ready to handle significantly more complex applications without having to write software code. The advanced functionality of FlexSim allows the course to cover topics not included in other books.

    Additionally, since all work is carried out in a 3D environment, students show more interest in expanding their work and experimenting with simulation. They add realism to their models by using FlexSim’s 3D objects or by importing existing objects from drawing packages, including AutoCAD, ProE, Solid Works, Catia, 3D Studio, AC3D, Rivit, and Google Sketch-Up to name a few. Also, students can import thousands of 3D objects into their FlexSim models from Google’s 3D Warehouse.

  • There are two topics in particular that are covered extensively in this book that are not normally covered in any depth by other simulation textbooks. The first involves simulating fluid or continuous-state change models. Since many manufacturing, and other systems, contain fluid as well as discrete elements, this book dedicates a chapter to simulating hybrid fluid-discrete systems. FlexSim has a standard library of objects for simulating fluids that can represent a liquid or high-speed solid material flow such as grain or sugar. Students build simulations of a mixing and batching system and a grain loading facility.

    The second new topic involves scheduling in simulated systems. In the chapter on production scheduling, students simulate the control of production lines that are scheduled by a central controller. Students are faced with decisions concerning where to appropriately measure production and how to handle material that remains on the line once the requisite number of units has been produced. Exercises in both of these chapters do not require programming because of standard FlexSim functionality.

  • There are chapters dedicated to both input and output analysis. Statistical theory is reviewed as it pertains to the analysis. The chapter on input modeling or modeling randomness includes a discussion of the analysis software ExpertFit, which is included in the student edition. The chapter on output analysis discusses constructing experimental designs and carrying out the analysis of the simulated data. It includes a discussion of how to determine the length of the simulation run and how to statistically compare results.

  • Correctly simulating reliability is becoming a very important application topic. FlexSim’s standard software allows students to model and understand basic reliability issues without any programming. FlexSim’s reliability capability is much easier to use and more powerful than many other applications. A chapter is dedicated to modeling equipment reliability; it has the students building simulations with multiple types of downtimes and where breakdowns are based on their state.

  • The consistent structure of FlexSim’s objects make building models easy. Of course, a quickly built model doesn’t mean it will be a good one, especially if the building process is carried out without understanding the system being modeled, modeling and operational assumptions, and how the simulator works, at least at a basic level. Consequently, the book dedicates two chapters to the “professional practice of simulation”. In these chapters students learn to describe, represent, and analyze an operations system, understand the importance of interfacing with all the people involved with a simulation, determine the basic problem to be analyzed or solved, identify the objectives and measurement metrics, decide on where to focus the simulation, describe the assumptions that are needed, and then specify the simulation work. Students learn to relate to commonly used tools such as value stream maps and to add dynamic details needed for the simulation. A simulation project template, based on extensive industrial experience, is used as a guide for the process.

  • The textbook has already been used successfully for undergraduate, graduate, and short courses in simulation. The book is organized according to the three typical levels of user: Occasional, Intermediate, and Advanced. By selectively choosing material, courses can be easily customized.

  • An educator community site (Password protected) is available and contains lecture, quiz, test, and project material. The authors are available and can be directly contacted for questions and support. Also, FlexSim has an Educator Coordinator and is scheduling educator workshops.

  • FlexSim is object-oriented and more. Object-oriented simulation software offers more consistency in the application structure, thus making it much easier to use. However, many competitors push their object-oriented software but don’t have the software architecture behind the scenes to take full advantage of it. FlexSim’s unique hierarchical structure with its visualization capability is state of the art and takes object-orientation to a new level to benefit users.

  • FlexSim Software Products, Inc. has been developing, supporting and selling 3D simulation and optimization software since 1993. Bill Nordgren, President of FlexSim, is a simulation pioneer who co-founded ProModel in 1988 and helped it to become a worldwide leader in the field. Along with Cliff King and Roger Hullinger, Bill also introduced Taylor II and Taylor ED to the North American simulation market. They understood that changing simulation technology, user base, and customer needs were driving the marketplace toward easier to use tools. In time, the trio added Dr. Eamonn Lavery and Anthony Johnson to their development team.

    FlexSim was the first of its kind and is still the leader in functionality and 3D visualization that others now try to follow. Based on its state-of-the-art simulation engine and software architecture, FlexSim has created world-class applications in the fields of healthcare, container terminal operations, distributed simulation over multiple computers, agent-based simulation, 3D software presentations, etc. FlexSim has also created in-house simulators using the FlexSim engine for several Fortune 500 companies.

  • Support for the textbook and software is available via FlexSim’s normal support system, as well by contacting the authors directly or FlexSim’s Education Coordinator.

  • Students can purchase the software individually and download it directly to their own computer or they can use it via their university’s network. FlexSim has worked with colleges and universities to provide customized methods for obtaining the software.

  • The student version of FlexSim is fully functional – all modeling objects (discrete and fluid, as well as custom library objects), hierarchical tree access, multi-scenario experimenter, spreadsheet and database accessibility, ability to modify objects via custom code, and the use of ExpertFit – data analysis software developed by Averill Law. While models of any size can be run on the software, new models are limited to 100 objects – a limit that doesn’t even come close to the most advanced models used in the textbook and most simulation courses. This limit can be increased if requested by the educator teaching the course.

  • The whole concept of using FlexSim for education is that the book and student software will be fully integrated with the standard, commercial version of FlexSim. There will be no waiting for a new version of the textbook to be published when a new version of FlexSim is released. The textbook will be continually updated via FlexSim’s educator website in order to keep pace with changing simulation technology.

  • After class or graduation, students can still open their models to review their work using an evaluation copy of FlexSim or any standard FlexSim license.

  • For many years FlexSim has supported, and continues to support, students worldwide with fully functional licenses of its latest version for use with special projects and research efforts. FlexSim is the software of choice for education in China. The textbook is only the latest chapter in this commitment. In addition to the book, FlexSim is committed to an extensive support structure for educators who use the text.

Please Wait

loading

Create a password for your FlexSim account.






Tell us about your organization.

Healthcare Commercial Government Educational Other

Please provide additional information to complete your commercial account.

Please provide additional information to complete your account.

Please provide additional information to complete your account.

Please provide additional information to complete your government account.

Please provide additional information to complete your student account.

Please provide additional information to complete your educator account.








graduation date



Are you a student or educator?

Student Educator

Download FlexSim Express

Download

Would you like to tell us more about yourself?